The Computer Gal Logo - Laptop with coffee and plants
Check out Those Ads before Responding

Is this ad bogus?This ad showed up on a major news site. So, I clicked the ad and went to the an article in the "washington-reporter.com." The site looks like a real news site. But, there were some very interesting issues with the site.
A 2nd example of a fake news site

  1. Google search for washington reporter. Do you find a real newspaper with the domain name listed above?
  2. It's odd that their ad sales department can't do a better job of getting banner ads.
  3. At the bottom of the page, you see what looks like a legal disclaimer. Funny how a newspaper site would allow so many typos in their legal disclaimer. Also, it's odd that their "attorneys" can't spell.
  4. Notice that you can't add your comments because of "spam." How convenient, in case you might have spent $$$ with them that didn't fulfill the picture they portray.
  5. The "Google" ads at the side aren't really Google ads. Google ads are marked as such.
  6. If it's too good to be true - it probably isn't true!

Disclaimer: there are no links in this article to the ad or site, as I don't want anyone to inadvertently be scammed from my site.
All images are actual screenshots taken 8/23/09. It will be interesting to see if this article exists in 3 months.

Related Topics and Resources

  1. go.google.com Browser Hijack
  2. Wikipedia topic: Trojan Horse
  3. How to Recognize a Trojan Horse on your Website
  4. Verizon Wireless Trojan Horse
  5. Domain Name Scam from China
  6. Sports Event Registration Scam
  7. Are Those Tweeter Ads for Real?

 

Nora McDougall | Missoula, Montana 59801 | 406.253.4045 | Contact Nora
© 2010, Nora McDougall-Collins